nomadmedical.blogg.se

Eye fi card review
Eye fi card review












eye fi card review
  1. #Eye fi card review install
  2. #Eye fi card review pro
  3. #Eye fi card review software
  4. #Eye fi card review windows

If you use rechargeable batteries in your camera, this is not a big deal–you just want to make sure you have enough spare batteries when you won’t be near a power source, and that you keep your batteries charged up regularly. This, in addition to the extra power draw for WiFi, means that your camera’s battery will be depleted more quickly. One note about camera power… Yes, the Eye-Fi card requires your camera to be powered on in order to transfer pictures. You can disable this, or customize the folder name to use a custom date format. Perfect!īy default, Eye-Fi creates a folder for each day within the destination folder.

eye fi card review

Once that was set up, I snapped a few more pictures, left the camera powered on, and in a few seconds they appeared in the shared folders I had designated. This is precisely what I wanted, so I didn’t think much of it and approved the message. When I did this, a confirmation dialog popped up, saying that my desktop computer would no longer be the destination for photos and that the server would become the new destination.

#Eye fi card review windows

Under Windows Home Server v1, this is typically D:\shares\Photos, D:\shares\Videos, and so on. When pointing the Eye-Fi Center to the delivery folders on the server, I wasn’t able to point to a network share, so I had to use the local path for the shares. This was done under the Control Panel > Scheduled Tasks menu option.

#Eye fi card review software

Because Eye-Fi Center runs under a user account instead of as a service, I also had to create a scheduled task to run the software every time the server restarts. I plugged the Eye-Fi adapter with card into the front port of my HP MediaSmart Server and ran the installation through a remote desktop connection. Eye-Fi can deliver JPEG photos, raw camera files, and videos, sending each type to a separate folder–as long as they are all on the same computer.

eye fi card review

First, I created my delivery folders on the Photos share and on the Videos share. Because this is a server machine running a server version of Windows, I had to take a few extra steps with this installation.

#Eye fi card review install

Next, I decided to install Eye-Fi Center on my Windows Home Server, since that computer is accessible to all my computers and provides automatic duplication in case of disk failure. Just don’t toss it in the trash or lose it, because you may need it again to change settings in the Eye-Fi Center software. After the initial setup, you probably won’t need to use the adapter again, but it can be used as a regular SD to USB adapter for transferring pictures the standard way, or for other purposes. The Eye-Fi card comes with its own USB SD card reader (adapter) which allows it to communicate with the Eye-Fi servers–and the Eye-Fi Center software, which needs to be installed on your computer. I will say, though, that once I adjusted my expectations to the reality of how this thing works, I am pretty pleased with it. It’s certainly more convenient and oh-so-magical when it works, but the software has some frustrating limitations and infuriating quirks which hinder the overall experience. But is it really as convenient as it sounds? After spending a couple of weeks with the Eye-Fi, I can answer that as… yes and no.

eye fi card review

If you frequently forget to put the memory card back in your camera, you like to send pictures to multiple destinations, or you just get annoyed by constantly taking the card out of the camera, this idea can be very appealing. The Eye-Fi card is a SD card with built-in WiFi so you can wirelessly transfer pictures from your camera without removing the card. In this article I will discuss my experience with the Eye-Fi card, setting it up to work with Windows Home Server and an iPad, and some of the limitations and features of the device. When I saw refurbished Eye-Fi cards being offered on for about half price of MSRP, I had to go for it.

#Eye fi card review pro

I have always wanted one of these, but could not bring myself to pay the going rate for the Pro version (required for raw support). Learn more at A few weeks ago, I mentioned that I had purchased an Eye-Fi Pro X2 WiFi SD card for my camera.














Eye fi card review